Organized with 70 charter members, the University of Tennessee Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta was chartered on June 4, 1964.
Its membership includes undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the College of Agricultural Sciences and
Natural Resources (CASNR) and the College of Veterinary Medicine (CVM).

Spring 2013 Awards and Initiation Reception


Banquet Program CoverThe chapter hosted over 50 faculty, staff, students and guest April 16 for the annual spring awards and initiation ceremony. Attendees enjoyed poster presentations from Exhibition of Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement (EUReCA) award winners prior to the luncheon reception. Dr. Mike Buschermohle, chapter president, presided over the evening's events, which recognized outstanding students with awards of merit prior to the luncheon's membership initiation ceremony inducting 36 new members.

Exhibition of Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement (EURēCA) Presentation and Award Winners

Ariel Buehler won an overall award presented by Phi Kappa Phi.

Merit Award Winners

CASNR Student Awards
     Senior: Ariel J. Buehler  (Food Science and Technology)

CVM Student Awards
     Fourth Year: Lindsey N. Hill

Graduate Student MS and PhD Awards
     To be presented during fall 2013 awards banquet


Faculty and Staff
     Hem S. Bhandari  (Plant Sciences)
     Brent N. Lamons  (CASNR)
     Joanne Logan  (Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science)

Undergraduate Students
     Jessica Baxter  (Animal Science)
     Coleman Knox Bradley  (Biosystems Engineering)
     Alana Burnham  (Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science)
     Alexis Burnham  (Animal Science)
     Leanne Fowler  (Animal Science)
     Lauren Gotham  (Animal Science)
     Chet E. Greer  (Environmental Soil Sciences)
     Alyssa Helms  (Animal Science)
     Noelle Herrera  (Animal Science)
     Rebecca Kocak  (Animal Science)
     Margaret E. LaFlamme  (Animal Science)
     Caitlin Hunter McCord  (Animal Science)
     Morgan Frances McPheeters  (Animal Science)
     Rachel O’Rear  (Animal Science)
     Austin Powell  (Environmental Science)
     Ryan Rohling  (Animal Science)
     Molly K. Shaw  (Animal Science)
     Julia Skaggs  (Animal Science)
     Sarah Templeton  (Animal Science)
     Madeline Wheeler  (Animal Science)

Graduate Students
      Jeneen S. Abrams  (Plant Sciences)
     Eric Bisangwa  (Agricultural and Resource Economics)
     Matthew Bobbitt  (Plant Sciences)
     Shikha Kamra Chugh  (Agricultural and Resource Economics)
     Caroline Ellis  (Agricultural and Resource Economics)
     Megan Rene Goodwin  (Animal Science)
     Eifion Wyn Hughes  (Plant Sciences)
     Trevor Israel  (Plant Sciences)
     William Edward McNair  (Agricultural and Resource Economics)
     Prachya Mruetusatorn  (Biosystems Engineering)
     David Peters  (Wildlife and Fisheries Science)
     José J. Vargas  (Plant Sciences)
     Nan Zhang  (Food Science and Technology)



Spring InitiatesSpring Initiates

Distinguished Achievement
Ariel J. Buehler
Outstanding CASNR Senior Award


University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture
2621 Morgan Circle Drive | Knoxville, TN 37996
AgResearch | Extension | College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources | College of Veterinary Medicine
The University of Tennessee