UT Tennessee Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta Tenn Chapter
Index Contact us Officers History Liaisons Membership Awards Calendar Committees


Gamma Sigma Delta Announces 2006 Award Recipients
and Inducts New Members

The fall initiation and awards banquet of the UT Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta, the Honor Society of Agriculture, was held November 9, 2006. Dr. Michael Smith, chapter president, presided over the evening’s events, which featured Dr. Joe DiPietro, UT Vice President for Agriculture, as the guest speaker. Faculty and student awards of excellence were also presented.

This year’s faculty award of excellence recipients are:

Research Award –
Kurt Lamour, assistant professor in Entomology and Plant Pathology

Teaching Award –
Neal Eash, associate professor of Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science

Extension Award –
Doyle Meadows, Professor of Animal Science

Team Award –
Agriculture and Food Vulnerability Assessment Program Project Team, which includes 31 members. The 17 members from UTIA are:

Dr. Sharon Thompson (Team Leader), College of Veterinary Medicine
Dr. Tim Cross, UT Extension
Dr. Ann Draughon, UT Food Safety Center of Excellence
Babbet Harbison, College of Veterinary Medicine
Dr. Fred Hopkins, College of Veterinary Medicine
Dr. Nancy Howell, College of Veterinary Medicine
Dr. John Jared, UT Extension (retired)
Aaron Killian, College of Veterinary Medicine
Dr. Robert Linnabary, College of Veterinary Medicine (retired)
Dr. John New, College of Veterinary Medicine
David Smelser, College of Veterinary Medicine
Phil Snow, College of Veterinary Medicine
Linda Beets, College of Veterinary Medicine
Tina McConnell, College of Veterinary Medicine
Dr. Michael Sims, College of Veterinary Medicine
Dr. Matthew Welborn, College of Veterinary Medicine
Ann White, College of Veterinary Medicine

This year’s student merit award winners are:
College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources –

The Outstanding Freshman Award is presented to the student with the highest grade point average at the end of their first year.
Outstanding Freshmen:
          Amber Bowling, Animal Science
          Vanessa Hale, Animal Science

The Outstanding Sophomore Award is presented to no more than the top five sophomores.
Outstanding Sophomores:
          Kelly Louise Grimes, Animal Science
          Lindsay Harper, Animal Science
          Seth Kiser, Animal Science
          Brittnee Morgan, Agricultural & Extension Education
          Michael Petty, Plant Sciences

Outstanding Junior:
          Emily Anne Uselton, Animal Science

College of Veterinary Medicine Outstanding Student Merit Awards –

First Year:
          Kelly Jean Elshoff
Second Year:
          Laurel Beck Danner
Third Year:
          Lisa Marie Grupka

The following undergraduate students were initiated into Gamma Sigma Delta:

Kimberly Ball, Agriculture Education
Amber Dunn, Wildlife and Fisheries Science
Arthur Fisher, Environmental and Soil Science
Lori Scholl, Animal Science/Science and Technology
Cathy Selbert, Agriculture & Natural Resources/ Agricultural & Extension Education
Eric Southerland, Agricultural Science

The following graduate students were inducted into Gamma Sigma Delta:

Elizabeth Alexander, Entomology and Plant Pathology
Justin Bryant, Plant Sciences
Eric Caldwell, Biosystems Engineering Technology
Kristina K. Carter, Food Science and Technology/Food Microbiology
Abdullah Cihan, Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science
Ann Marie D. Craig, Food Science and Technology/Food Chemistry
Issac Kent Deal, Entomology and Plant Pathology
Carla Dilling, Entomology and Plant Pathology
Kelly Felderhoff, Entomology and Plant Pathology
Taylor Fielden, Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries
Kateryna Goychuck, Agricultural Economics
LaKeya N. Jones, Agricultural Economics
Lindsey M. Kline, Biosystems Engineering
Misty N. Larrance, Agriculture & Extension Education
John W. Laux, Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries
Jiajie Li, Food Science and Technology
Brian Marsh, Biosystems Engineering
Gregory Joseph Ochs, Jr, Animal Science/Animal Physiology
Jennifer Pfeffer, Plant Sciences/Public Gardens & Horticulture Therapy
Andrew J. Pulte, Plant Sciences
Merry Rogers, Food Science and Technology
Rodney Tocco, Plant Sciences/Turfgrass Physiology
Michael Waynick, Plant Sciences

The following College of Veterinary Medicine students were initiated into Gamma Sigma Delta:

Jessica M. Carbonell
Laurel Beck Danner
Nicole Elizabeth Geyer
Jennifer Lane
Josh Mixon
Rebecca Nichols
Allison Klesse Smith

The following UTIA faculty and staff were initiated as members of Gamma Sigma Delta:

Joan B. Cooper, Animal Science
Aaron E. Fisher, Animal Science
Kristy M. Hill-Campbell, Animal Science
Robert W. Holland, Center for Profitable Agriculture

2006-2007 GSD Officers
2006-2007 Officers
Pictured l. to r.: William Hart, Ernie Bazen, Michael Smith,
Emily Tipton, Emily Gray and George Grandle

The Chapter extends its hearty congratulations to all award winners and a warm welcome to all new members.


bottom bar
| Home | Contact us | Site directory | Forms | International |