UT Tennessee Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta Tenn Chapter
Index Contact us Officers History Liaisons Membership Awards Calendar Committees


Gamma Sigma Delta Announces 2007 Award Recipients
and Inducts New Members

The fall initiation and awards banquet of the UT Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta, the Honor Society of Agriculture, was held November 15, 2007. Dr. Ernie Bazen, chapter president, presided over the evening’s events, which featured Dr. Caula Beyl, Dean of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, as the guest speaker. Faculty and student awards of excellence were also presented. Publication-quality copies of the photos are available from Margot Emery.

This year’s faculty award of excellence recipients are:

Research Award – Dr. Lannett Edwards, Associate Professor, Animal Science

Teaching Award – Dr. John Sorochan, Associate Professor, Plant Science

Extension Award – Dr. Fred Hopkins, Professor, Animal Science

Team Award – Pigeon River Recovery Project Team
Dr. Larry Wilson, Ms. Joyce Coombs, Dr. John Tyner, Mr. Wesley Wright, Dr. Ted Henry, Dr. David Etnier, and Dr. Chuck Coutant

Alumni Award - Mr. Mike Blankenship, Ag. Extension Education Alumni

This year’s student merit award winners are:
College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources –

The Outstanding Freshman Award is presented to the student with the highest grade point average at the end of their first year.
Outstanding Freshmen:
Glenis Moore, Animal Sciences
          Samuel Wicker, Animal Sciences
          Jacob Lewis, Food Science and Technology
          Chase Coakley, Agricultural Sciences

The Outstanding Sophomore Award is presented to no more than the top five sophomores.
Outstanding Sophomores:
Vanessa Hale, Animal Sciences
          Seth Patterson, Animal Sciences
          Amber Bowling, Animal Sciences
          James White, Biosystems Engineering
          Jonathan Smith, Animal Sciences

Outstanding Junior:
Maria Jugan, Animal Sciences
          Jeremy Hamlington, Wildlife and Fisheries
          Brittnee Morgan, Agricultural Sciences

College of Veterinary Medicine Outstanding Student Merit Awards –

First Year: Rebecca Costello
                Emily Pearman
                Joseph Rowe
                Jody Thomas
Laura White

Second Year: Kelly Jean Rogers
Third Year: Nicole Geyer

The following undergraduate students were initiated into Gamma Sigma Delta:

Aaron Crowgey (Agricultural Economics)
Kimberly Geary (Biosystems Engineering)
Nathan Alden Haislip (Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries)
Joshua B. Jones (Food Science/Pre-Med)
Wendy Jones (Environmental Science)
Brittany M. Mathes (Animal Sciences)
DJ Mitchell (Plant Sciences/Public, Horticulture)
Jacob Randolph (Animal Sciences)
Sloan Regen (Food Science and Technology)
Elena Sánchez (Animal Sciences)

The following graduate students were inducted into Gamma Sigma Delta:

Fernando Di Croce (Animal Science)
Alicia L. English (Agricultural Economics)
Abdul Hakeem Hunzai (Entomology and Plant Pathology)
Sharon Jean-Philippe (Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries)
Hoang Ky (Animal Sciences)
Brian M. Leckie (Plant Sciences)
Jennifer E. Noe (Plant Sciences)
Mary Ellen Pautler (Agricultural and Extension Education)
Rilla Reese (Animal Sciences)
Lance Andrew Stewart (Agricultural Economics)
Chayapa Techathuvanan (Food Science and Technology)
Amanda Ward (Animal Sciences)
Melissa Page Warren (Food Science and Technology)
Drew Wirwa (Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries)
Ximin Zeng (Animal Sciences)

The following College of Veterinary Medicine students were initiated into Gamma Sigma Delta:

Julie E. Bishop
Travis W. Luna
Melissa Mustillo
Kelly Jean Rogers
Marisa Etta Shulman
Kristi D. Sowers
Rebecca Lee Tolbert

The following UTIA faculty and staff were initiated as members of Gamma Sigma Delta:

Dr. Christopher D. Clark (Agricultural Economics)
Mr. James G. Stewart (UT Extension – Central Region)

2007-2008 GSD Officers with International GSD Gold Chapter Award

The Chapter extends its hearty congratulations to all award winners and a warm welcome to all new members.


bottom bar
| Home | Contact us | Site directory | Forms | International |