UT Tennessee Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta Tenn Chapter
Index Contact us Officers History Liaisons Membership Awards Calendar Committees


Gamma Sigma Delta Announces Awards
Winners and Inductees for Spring 2003

The University of Tennessee Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta, the international honor society of agriculture, held its annual spring initiation and awards reception on April 24 in courtyard of the Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering Building.

The College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources (CASNR) top senior award went to Julie Pedigo, an agricultural economics major.

The College of Veterinary Medicine fourth-year award was given to Anthony L. Ashley.

Gamma Sigma Delta is a faculty-governed society that selects its members from junior and senior students, graduate students, faculty, and alumni for the promotion and recognition of high achievement. While Gamma Sigma Delta is an honor society of agriculture, it may elect members from related fields such as biology, botany, chemistry, economics, entomology, forestry, home economics, plant pathology, sociology, statistics, veterinary medicine, or zoology when the work of the individuals is related to agriculture. Officers, committee chairpersons, and other leading the chapter are faculty or alumni.

Undergraduate students inducted into Gamma Sigma Delta were as follows:

Erika A. Bible, food science and technology
Loren B. Frost, plant sciences and landscape systems
Allison E. Ricks, food science and technology

Graduate students inducted into Gamma Sigma Delta were as follows:

Shuang Chi, food science and technology
Brian T. Hemel, forestry, wildlife and fisheries
Hong Young Jeon, biosystems engineering and environmental science
Karla K. Kean, agricultural and extension education
Meng Li, agricultural economics
Anne M. Olson, agricultural and extension education
Kimberley Pickens, plant science
William T. Pinson, biosystems engineering and environmental science
David Dean Rasmussen, food science and technology
Andres Rodriguez, food science and vet.

Spring 2003 Initiates

Not all the initiates were available for the photo. Shown from left to right are Frost, Olson, Li, Pinson, and Jeon.

Contact:  Patricia Clark McDaniels, 865-974-7141

bottom bar
| Home | Contact us | Site directory | Forms | International |