UT Tennessee Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta Tenn Chapter
Index Contact us Officers History Liaisons Membership Awards Calendar Committees


Spring Reception Showers Awards on Students, Installs Officers

The UT Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta, the international honor society for agriculture, held its annual spring awards and initiation reception on April 15, 2004, in room 166 of Biosystems Engineering & Environmental Science.

The winner of the chapter's GSD student award for College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources was announced as Kathryn Amanda Brown, an animal science major. Dr. Henry Kattesh, immediate past-president of the chapter, announced her award and introduced her to the chapter.

The winner of the chapter's GSD student award for the College of Veterinary Medicine was announced by CVM Associate Dean James Brace as Jocelyn Erin Allen.

Gamma Sigma Delta is a faculty-governed society that selects its members from junior and senior students, graduate students, faculty, and alumni for the promotion and recognition of high achievement. While Gamma Sigma Delta is an honor society of agriculture, it may elect members from related fields such as biology, botany, chemistry, economics, entomology, forestry, home economics, plant pathology, sociology, statistics, veterinary medicine, or zoology when the work of the individuals is related to agriculture. Officers, committee chairpersons, and others leading the chapter are faculty or alumni.

The reception also featured the installation of Dr. Neal Eash as chapter president for 2004-2005. Dr. George Grandle will serve as president-elect for 2005-2006. Dr. William Hart will continue as treasurer, Dr. Bill Park will serve as secretary, and Emily Gray was elected to serve as historian.

Undergraduate students inducted into Gamma Sigma Delta were as follows:

Melissa Brandon, Animal Science
Benjamin B. Buckles, Agricultural Economics & Business
Aaron Daniel Crehshaw,
Lora Jane Harding, Animal Science
Jane Elizabeth Howell, Agricultural Economics & Business
Jill M. Kovalchik, Biosystems Engineering
Michael Legett, Animal Science
Brady D. Lewis, Biosystems Engineering
Preston McCary, Biosystems Engineering

Graduate students inducted into Gamma Sigma Delta were as follows:

Donna L. Bradley, Hickman County Extension Agent II
Tara Garrett, Biosystems Engineering
Carrie Hedio, Forestry, Wildlife & Fisheries
Candice Dawn Jones, Biosystems Engineering
Joo Young Kim, Plant & Soil Sciences
Creig C. Kimbro, Grundy County Extension Agent I
Michael R. Scott, Biosystems Engineering

College of Veterinary Medicine student inducted into Gamma Sigma Delta was as follows:

Amy Bell, Comparative Medicine Fourth Year

Spring 2004 Initiates

bottom bar
| Home | Contact us | Site directory | Forms | International |